The hard work and academic achievement of Moraine Park Technical College students was recognized during the College’s annual Student Awards Banquet held last month at The Golf Club at Camelot in Lomira.

Moraine Park presented the 2017 Student of the Year Award to DeWayne Sexton of West Bend. The Student of the Year Award is designed to recognize a student who excelled in and outside of the classroom and has taken full advantage of the opportunities that Moraine Park has made available for them.

The 2016-17 District Student Ambassador Award was presented to Christine Gil of Beaver Dam. The Moraine Park District Student Ambassador Award identifies outstanding students in the technical college system, with nominations solicited from faculty and staff in the spring semester of each year.

Technical Achievement Awards were presented to 26 students. To receive this award, recipients must be enrolled in a one-year technical diploma program and have maintained a 3.25 GPA. They are judged on classroom participation and other contributions and characteristics that exemplify an outstanding student. Recipients were: Blake Bingen of Allenton; Jason Martin of Beaver Dam; Alec Denzin of Campbellsport; Daniel Barelmann and Matt Conrad of Cedarburg; Jakob Strupp of Colgate; Corbin Teletzke of Fond du Lac; Tommy Schmedler of Germantown; Forrest Franken, Jacob Stamm and Dylan Zivkovich of Hartford; Richard Eichorst of Horicon; Jacob Aumann of Iron Ridge; Thomas Pluim and Marcus Richards of Juneau; Zach Heberer of Kewaskum; Garrett Leis of Mt Horeb; Jeff Hietpas of Oshkosh; Ryan Opitz of Slinger; Matt Mecikalski of Watertown; and Ramon Cruz-Najera, Bryce Deming, Clyde Konrath, Nicholas Moser, Jeremy Wichman and Chad Zimmermen of West Bend

The Meritorious Service Award is granted to students who have served the College through their leadership and participation in co-curricular activities such as student clubs, student government or other volunteer opportunities. This year’s 78 recipients include: Samantha Stam, Van Peterson, Troy Wiener, Nicole Fitzpatrick, and Michelle Lawrence of Beaver Dam; Patrick Blair of Belleville; Tanner Younglove of Berlin; Sydney Hayashi of Boulder Junction; Raeannon Lett of Brownsville; Nicholas Kufalk of Burnett; Cody Liesener of Campbellsport; Arletta Allen, Trevor Benish, Alyssa Biggs, Jose Bustos, Alaine Camargo, Erika Compton, Katherine Gindt, Holly Halfman, Elisabeth Herman, Ralph Hertel, Harley Jackson, Brandon Sponholz, Carla Stephany, Tammi Thurow, Elijah Voigt, Mark Wallis, Rose Weed, Noah Ahlswede and Dystiny Helbig of Fond du Lac; Emily Ewe of Grafton; Emily Goddard, Carol Ann Bornhofer and Shelby Schneidervin of Hartford; Matt Magnussen of Horicon; Maria Limbach of Hubertus; Kim Thrane of Iron Ridge; Bryce Wentlandt of Jackson; Thomas Pluim and Bethany Treder of Juneau; Sheila Delvaux and Douglas Heberer of Kewaskum; Jake Breunig and Quintin Trainor of Lodi; Cody Kuphal of Markesan; Nicki Stavrakis of Menomonee Falls; Garrett Leis of Mt Horeb; Dustin Hogen of Neosho; Anthony Buechel of New Holstein; Justin Davis of Omro; Angela Maki-Peter and Alyssa Verburgt of Oshkosh; Briana Schaub of Pickett; Sloan Pfeifer of Plymouth; Jennifer Gereau of Pulaski; Nancy Brunner of Random Lake; Joshua Strnad of Rio; Kathleen Smith of Ripon; Jennifer Miller of Rubicon; Joey Jaeger, Melissa Meyer and Stephanie Grant of Slinger; Eric Wex of Watertown; Jennifer Vinarski of Waukesha; Alana Clark and Phil Conley of Waupun; Jessica Bach, Erica Breitenstein, Jessica Corbett, Jesse Ehlers, Kristine Gould, Caroline Krebs, Robin Krewald, Marissa Loomis, Ashland Morecki, Nicholas Moser, Queenie Weesen and Jackie Rein of West Bend.

Eighteen Moraine Park students received the Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges Award. Who’s Who Among Students is one of the most highly regarded and long-standing honors programs in the nation. Students receive national recognition for achieving at least a 3.25 GPA as well as participating and showing leadership in academic and extracurricular activities. Recipients were: Blake Bingen of Allenton; Alec Denzin and Brandon Miller of Campbellsport; Angus Frey of Colgate; Ashley Blish, Jose Bustos and Vickie Mally of Fond du Lac; Madison Johannes of Grafton; Michael Huckaby of Hartford; Dannielle Begley-Connor of Lomira; Amy Bowman of Oshkosh; Sara Martens of Random Lake; Marissa Loomis, Patrick Moran, Jackie Rein, Joan Rider, DeWayne Sexton and Ashley Wimer of West Bend.

The Moraine Park Federation of Teachers sponsors a Community Stewardship, Activist and Leadership Award. This award is given based on a written application displaying the student’s understanding of and participation in community-based efforts. Recipients were:Brenda Bertram of Fond du Lac and DeWayne Sexton of West Bend

The Leadership and Service Awards were presented to 22 students. Recipients were: Jeremiah Alderden, Amanda Funcke and Jessica Engel of Beaver Dam; Jake Mercer of Berlin; Brady Kuphal of Brandon; Angus Frey of Colgate; Vickie Mally, Alexander McCleary, Zach McLaughlin, Malinda Moore and Corbin Teletzke of Fond du Lac; Madison Johannes of Grafton; Michael Huckaby and Audrey Carroll of Hartford; Holly Muenchow of Horicon; Amy Bowman of Oshkosh; Sara Martens of Random Lake; Adam Peppler of Ripon; Kevin Potter of Rosendale; Tim Homuth, Joan Rider and DeWayne Sexton of West Bend.

Student government leadership recognition included Holly Muenchow, Beaver Dam Student Senate president; Tim Homuth, Fond du Lac Student Senate president; Madison Johannes, West Bend Student Senate president; Jeremiah Alderden, District Student Government president; Brady Kuphal, Wisconsin Student Government lt. governor; and Mike Huckaby, Wisconsin Student Government governor.

For more information about Moraine Park, visit